Paul Doud

2024 Inductee
Paul Doud was born in Houghton, Mich., and played youth hockey in the Copper Country Youth Hockey program in Houghton.

Molly Engstrom

2024 Inductee
Molly Engstrom was born and raised in the small northwestern town of Siren, Wis., and played youth hockey from the ages of six to twelve in nearby Webster.

Sue Pope

2024 Inductee
Sue Pope from Madison has been an “influencer” when it comes to girls’ and women’s hockey long before that term became popular on social media.

  • Gene Richter - 1982
Gene Richter, a native of Eagle River, did it all. He served as janitor, ice maker, bus driver, player, coach and organizer at all levels of hockey. Local people claim were it not for Richter hockey may have never advanced and prospered as it has. He was an outstanding defenseman with the Eagle River Northernaires senior team starting in 1947 and continuing for 12 years.

During this time he also coached youth teams and often more than one per year. His 1962 Pee Wee team and his 1963 Juvenile team won state titles. Richter coached several players who later played college hockey including Jim Petruzates, Tom Obrodovich, Chuck Alward and Tom Chuckel at the University of Wisconsin; Craig Ludwig at North Dakota and Joe Sparks at Michigan Tech.

From 1947 until he retired from hockey in 1973, Richter left a legacy that will long remembered in Eagle River.